Aside

A Love Letter to New York Comic Con – 20 Oct 2012

20 Oct

So, as you all may (or may not) know, this past Thursday was my 20th birthday. So close…yet so far. You know what I’m talkin’ about! But anyway…to celebrate my 20th birthday, I attended New York City Comic Con  – or NYCC, as the cool kids like to call it. 

I threw on a cheap “traditional” Chinese jacket that I literally found on the ground and decided to cosplay a Custom Fighter from any fighting game. 

NYC was amazing and beautiful (if you looked past the mountains of garbage everywhere, seriously…what is that about?). And the con allowed me to get close to many fellow nerds and some of my favorite icons of the nerd culture. I heard Adam West’s voice from the man’s lips. In person. And I will cherish that moment forever

And the city itself is full of so much sexiness and fashion, it was almost too-much for my Rochester-native brain to handle. Seriously, I may have to find my boyfriend in New York.

The one thing I regret about my trip to NYC was the fact that I didn’t see the Statue of Liberty. That wasn’t my fault, though. My guide did not want to go at all.

I understand that this post was very…discombobulated…but in all honesty, this is the first time that I was able to describe the trip in more words than just “aaaaaaaaahhhh!”

– Kai xxx

Leave a Reply

