Artist That I’m Digging Right Now [12 November 2012]

12 Nov

For November’s Artist That I’m Digging, I decided to do something kind of different and go to an artist that I have loved for years but I have recently had a refreshed excitement for.

This band of course, is Shiny Toy Guns. Five years ago (almost exactly), I attended my first concert. STG were the headliner and this adorable band called Liam and Me had opened for them. It had taken Shiny Toy Guns forever to take the stage but when they did come on – I knew instantly that the bar was set extremely high for all of the concerts I would go to in the future.

Fast forward to five years later. I am still in love with Shiny Toy Guns, they’ve gone through a brief change in frontwoman, and they have just released their third studio album. It had been about three years since I had seen them last and during a late night twitter session, I saw a string of words that almost made my heart explode – Free Shiny Toy Guns Show. This was posted by my favorite concert venue (shout out to Water Street Music Hall in Rochester, NY!) and I couldn’t believe my eyes. It was out of nowhere and according to the post, the show was going to be the next day. I had to go – even though I had injured my knee the day before.

And let me just say – bum knee or not – going to that show was one of the best decisions I had ever made. I was there with two of my best friends in the world, the show was free* but we had to donate to victims of Superstorm Sandy – which I was going to do anyway, they played some of my favorite songs, and everything was beautiful and nothing hurt. After the show – even though they had to leave for New Jersey in a few hours – the band talked to me like I was an old friend and one of them even remembered meeting me five years ago. The level of love and kindness in that little club was off the charts and left my icy heart defrosted for at least a few days.  It made me want to go out and be kind and change the world – but then I decided to play Splinter Cell instead.

So of course after that, I have been on a Shiny Toy Guns kick for the past week. I have been blasting We Are Pilots and Season of Poison. But most importantly…falling in love with III. It’s so sexual*. *It’s important to note here, for future reference, that I sometimes use the word “sexual” in place of the word “sexy”. Songs like “Waiting for You” and “Fading Listening” have the classic dance/electro/party/awesomeness vibes found on the first album, the more seductive vocals established by the temporary frontwoman on the second album, and manages to maintain a sound that is distinctively…Shiny. As with all of the other Artists That I’m Digging Right Now, STG are a band that I didn’t think I would like and kind of accidentally fell in love with. My favorite bands in the universe (minus STG) are Chevelle, The Who, The Clash, The Misfits, and Queens of the Stone Age. So, it’s kind of hard to see how STG fits in there. But shit, you could say the same thing about any one of the bands I listed. I traditionally seek out punk, hard rock, shit like that…but when you see STG live it’s easy to see how they can unite music fans accross the board. When listening to “Fading Listening”, I saw how Shiny Toy Guns are like my beloved Clash. The Clash are given the “punk” label, and they make their fans fall in love with songs that bring in elements of reggae, disco, R&B – genres that are decidedly un-punk that the fans of punk music don’t generally listen to. Well, STG is labeled as dance/electronica – a type of music that I typically hate. Yet, they draw in rock, punk, R&B, and other elements and have a stage element that brings fans of all music together.

With that said…listen to III! It’s perfect! Don’t believe me? Check out my favorite song from the album, “Fading Listening”

– And yes, I do still play Splinter Cell. Sam Fisher is my bro.

Kai xxx

Leave a Reply

